Making Christmas.

Shit. Its December! I’m one hundred percent unsure about how that happened. I’m still wondering how two thousand and six was ten years ago. Life really does pass by so quickly, too quickly in fact. I can’t be the only one who hasn’t saved the hundreds I was meant too, hasn’t bought that bloody Elf like I say I’m going to every year and who definitely didn’t rush out to buy an advent calendar for P this morning… oops.

So I thought instead of a gift guide filled with things that you had to be an organised ‘proper’ grown up to afford I’d treat you all to some fab homemade present ideas I’ve found. I’ll even be trying some out myself before Christmas, so I’ll be sure to let you know how they go!

For the women in your life.

eat me..

Who doesn’t like something sweet and homemade on Christmas day?! I’ve found a super easy festive fudge recipe that you don’t have to be Nigella to make! Gingerbread Fudge!

gingerbread-fudge-1

All you need is..

¾ cup sweetened condensed milk

12oz white chocolate, chopped (or chips)

2-3 tsp ginger, sifted

½-1 tsp cinnamon, sifted

½-1 tsp nutmeg, sifted.

Follow this link for the full recipe from this fabulous blog. They’re are hundreds of quick and easy fudge recipes out there so look around if this isn’t your cup of tea.

Next up –

drink me…

A little Christmas tipple? The only time alcohol is acceptable for breakfast right? (I’m kidding.. kind of. )  I’m definitely trying out this beauty. Christmas Gin! Cranberry infused to be precise!

Cranberry-Ginl-3d555aff-8d22-4b6c-bc5f-47524808400c-0-1400x919.jpg

The recipe is actually from the Tescos website and can be found here. Once again its really easy to make but will definitely be more appreciated than that peach jumper in the wrong size you panic bought last year..

You will need..

200g (7oz) cranberries (which are in season at the moment so extra nice!)

1 orange

200g (7oz) caster sugar

500ml (17fl oz) gin

And the best thing about the Tesco website is you can click one button and all the ingredients you need go into your basket.

I’d present the finished product in a nice airtight bottle with a little label like this, which you can find in Ikea or similar. They’re a litre in volume which I think is a nice size to be enjoyed throughout the festive period. However it would make a lovely present in mini bottles also. The recipe itself states filling two 500ml bottles.

Last but not least –
Use me..

So now some pampering! The Christmas season can really take its toll! Rushing around getting all you need (then rushing back around getting all the things you forgot!) and doing the dreaded Christmas food shop! So why not make you’re loved ones something to truly make them feel special! Help them heal those worn out feet with a Peppermint Foot Soak! My mum and my mother in law are always on the go so I’m sure they’ll appreciate this one!

Peppermint-Foot-Soak.jpg

It’s a really clear and easy recipe to follow and I adore how the finished product has been presented!

What to buy ..

1/2 cup powdered milk

1/2 cup epsom salt

2 tbsp loose peppermint tea

10 drops peppermint essential oil

Everything you need to know to make this is here! A long with some other fabulous ideas.

On to the men.

I find men really hard to buy for. They’re a tricky species and mine never really gives me ideas on what he’d actually like, so I hope this helps!

eat me..

Now this is something a little unusual but oh my it sounds good! I know G would be pretty excited to see this under the tree (although he’d much prefer it already sorted out and on a chunk of brie..)

Drum roll please….. Bacon Jam!! Americans have the best ideas don’t they?

IMG_5733-768x1152.jpg

I can’t believe I’m just hearing about this! I mean put on crackers, bruschetta, cheese?! The possibilities are endless (you could say I was excited about this discovery..).

Here’s what you need ..

2 pounds bacon, raw, chopped

2 teaspoons butter

2 large yellow onions, diced

1 tsp salt

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1 teaspoon black pepper

1 pinch cayenne pepper

1/2 cup water

2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar

2 teaspoons olive oil

Its a bit longer than the other ideas but I think it will be worth it! Find the recipe here and I really hope you enjoy this one!

It’s that time again –

drink me…

I’m undecided on this one.. I think it will be a love or hate thing. I’m not a rum drinker so probably wont be giving this one a go, so I really would love to hear from people who do! I’ve chosen it because its sounds festive and again a little unusual. Christmas Pudding Rum!

Our recipe for Christmas pudding spiced rum is great as a gift or for lighting the Christmas pudding itself! Prepare the rum at least two weeks before you plan to use it.:

Although the drink me options aren’t the cheapest I think they’ll be something special to give and be enjoyed. Presented the same as the gin these really would make lovely gifts!

To start you need –

70cl bottle dark rum (or bourbon)

2 vanilla pods

2 large cinnamon sticks

2 star anise

3 whole cloves

75g light brown muscovado sugar

1 orange

The recipe for this is actually another supermarket! This time its Waitrose follow this link and get busy!

To finish –

use me..

I’ve definitely stuck to the theme of being different for the men! Something they wouldn’t think of but will love! How about something to make they daily shave a bit more enjoyable? Something to make them smell better, for their benefit only of course. Something like Rosemary Mint Shaving Cream!

Rosemary Mint Shaving Cream | 22 Homemade Christmas Gifts Men Will Actually Love | Cool And Creative DIY Gifts by Pioneer Settler at http://pioneersettler.com/22-homemade-christmas-gifts-men-will-actually-love/:

Looks good right? You could use the handy jars Ikea do to present these in (pick them up whilst you’re buying the bottles for you drink me gifts 😉 )

Ok so what do you need –

1/3 cup shea butter
1/3 cup virgin coconut oil
1/4 cup jojoba or sweet almond oil
10 drops rosemary essential oil
3-5 drops peppermint essential oil

and then you need to pop a long to here for the how to! Be sure to check out the other ideas on the page! Its a fab read!

So there you have it. Three ideas for the men and for the women in your life! I hope I’ve inspired you to be creative this year and be sure to keep a look out for my posts about the ones I’m trying out! Oh and if any of my family and friends are reading this I just need lots and lots of drink me’s.

Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

